1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Time for a change

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by seaviews, Oct 3, 2015.

1. seaviews

seaviews New commenter

Hello,
    I've been a teacher for 18 years but I don't want to do it any more and have decided it's time to leave the profession.
    It's not because I can't teach, it's because it's wearing me out.
    I feel sad and angry that I've reached this decision because, as arrogant as it sounds, I am a really good teacher! I have consistently been judged as 'outstanding' by inspectors, managers, colleagues; my students like me, they enjoy my lessons and their results are amazing. I get on really well with all my colleagues and my managers BUT suddenly I am tired of it all and have had enough.
    The recent changes to GCSE and A level along with all the new Ofsted requirements have been the final straw. At this stage in my career I feel I should be able to reap some benefit from all the skills I've acquired and the relationships I've built up, but instead I have to spend hours and hours reinventing the wheel, sitting for hours and hours in front of a computer planning lessons and making new resources. I've been through too many changes too many times already and I now no longer have the motivation (or the energy) to do it all again.
    I am a long way from retirement so what shall I do with the rest of my working life?
    Has anyone any advice about how and where I should start, please?
    Thanking you in hopefulness.

2. Middlemarch

Middlemarch Star commenter