1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Thwarted HOD interview?

Discussion in 'Heads of department' started by allotmentlady, May 29, 2017.

1. allotmentlady

allotmentlady New commenter

Hi there,
    I hope you're having a fabulous half term. It has been my dream for a while to be a HOD. I'm currently a senior teacher and last year I was acting head of year. I had an internal interview on Friday at my own school. The application date was advertised as interviews on Friday. I believe the interview went really well, but at the end of the day my line manager said they were delaying the decision , so that one of the external candidates could come and be interviewed as the interview was too short notice for them ( despite it being advertised as this date)

It's a new specification in my subject from September and I've done a lot of voluntary work towards it. I've also worked in industry prior to this . The candidate coming in has the same amount of teaching experience as me.

Should I be concerned that they will recruit them to come and lead the team? There's nothing else I could do better I don't think . Is it personality based? I'm just gutted as if they wanted me to get it ( being the only internal candidate ) surely they wouldn't have waited for the external delayed candidate who has been given 12 more days notice than me and the other candidates ( who prepared with 11 hours) . Surely I'm in a good position as i know the team or does it go down to paper and what is said on the day?

I'm so gutted already- even though I don't know the result as it looks like it's going to be bad news.

2. secretsiren

secretsiren Star commenter