1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Thoughts on this China job offer?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Leaps7, Sep 30, 2019.

1. Leaps7

Leaps7 New commenter

Quick background: I'm a PE teacher in the US, with 12 years experience teaching PE in public schools. I have my bachelors degree in PE and health, and a masters in leadership. I'm currently applying to PE jobs overseas. I'll be bringing my spouse, who is not a teacher.

The offer: Bilingual school in Tianjin. PE department head.
    3,000CNY housing allowance a month
    10,000CNY airfare per year
    24,000CNY a month before taxes
    Full medical for myself, but not spouse.
    2 year contract. 13th month salary at end of completing second year of contract.

What are your thoughts on this offer?

2. robspillane

robspillane New commenter

It depends what factors its based on. Is it a great school? Will you be working 4 hours a week? It's subjective. Are you happy with it? Is that enough for a head of PE in your eyes? You know what the job entails and will it be a step up from what you're getting now? Or will you be working harder for less? The housing allowance is low but I live in a more expensive city.

3. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

It looks pretty good to me. I would be a bit unhappy about the lack of medical care for Mrs. Hippopotamus. I was paid more or less the same as an ordinary class teacher in SZ, but I do not know anything about Tianjin. Pollution levels would be my first thing to research!

4. ChaiLattePlease

ChaiLattePlease New commenter

I would say it’s quite low, especially for a head of department job. But perhaps cost of living is very low in Tianjin.

5. djphillips1408