1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Thoughts on salary-Chiang Mai

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Leaps7, Mar 16, 2020.

1. Leaps7

Leaps7 New commenter

I have 12 years of teaching experience. Looking at a school in Chiang Mai, what are your thoughts on the salary?

75,000THB month before taxes
    10,000THB monthly housing allowance
    20,000THB bonus after 2 year contract
    25,000THB flight allowance after 2 year contract
    Aetna Health Insurance

2. Helen-Back

Helen-Back Occasional commenter

From what I know it's pretty standard for Chiang Mai, but pretty poor for Thailand in general. You'll be taking home about 80000 baht, which is a liveable, if not luxurious, salary. Chiang Mai and the north in general are cheaper than the southern areas. Would work for a single, but not for a family.

I can't comment on the medical insurance as I have no idea what it covers. Paying out for flights after two years is tight. The bonus is embarrassingly small.

Not the best, but doable if you really want to live in Thailand.

Looks like Thai schools will be closing on Wednesday due to coronavirus. You may want to ask about that.

3. Luvsskiing

Luvsskiing Occasional commenter

If you have any health issues, make sure you understand about the annual smog season, from Jan - Mar before deciding to move there. This isn't just a bit of haze. It can be seriously harmful to health. Otherwise, the money is okay but not brilliant, but the area is great fun to live in.

4. shazzamac

shazzamac New commenter

In CM now as a teacher nomad from China.
    1. Aqi is terrible in March. Over 400 the other day. Getting worse.