1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Thoughts on Mondays OCR A2 bio paper?

Discussion in 'Science' started by bogstandardcomp, Jun 14, 2011.

1. bogstandardcomp

bogstandardcomp New commenter

How could they cover so little of the syllabus?

2. Two facebook pages about people complaining that there was no relationship between the spec and the paper.
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/F215-Ecology-paper-13-may/208435035864506#!/pages/F215-Ecology-paper-13-may/208435035864506?closeTheater=1
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Students-against-the-F215-GCE-Biology-June-2011-paper/225705074124228
    Apparently some teachers are planning to make formal conplaints to the board.
    (I'm a maths teacher but my daughter sat it, and is very disappointed. She worked really hard, revising, making notes, understanding all the processes, and feels it was all a waste of time, she would have done just as well - or badly - if she hadn't bothered)

3. ScienceGuy

ScienceGuy Occasional commenter

It was not what I (or my students) expected. It seemed to be focused on a few areas in depth - 15 marks on learned vs innate behaviour, but not the breadth of the course. I spoke to a couple of my group today who said that they found the paper was alright but where aware that most of the others were not particulalry impressed. I thought that the paper was very tricky and I suspect that the examiners will find it very difficult to come up with grade boundaries.