1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

This Letters and Sounds is just baffling me.

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by mrszzz, Dec 20, 2011.

1. OK I'm new to reception (starting after xmas) and have only done KS2 before so maybe I have some misconceptions/misunderstandings.
    After xmas I am due to start phase 3 however having observed the class many of the children don't seem to have a particular good grasp of what they did in Autumn. So do I plough on regardless?
    It seems to me that the children are meant to fit the programme and yet this seems to run counter to planning individually for the children's needs
    Grapheme, segment, blending when did teaching simple letter sounds become such a psuedo-science.
    Why satpin? why not a,b,c
    Is it just me or do others feel steamrollered by the whole process?

2. OK I'm new to reception (starting after xmas) and have only done KS2 before so maybe I have some misconceptions/misunderstandings.
    After xmas I am due to start phase 3 however having observed the class many of the children don't seem to have a particular good grasp of what they did in Autumn. So do I plough on regardless?
    It seems to me that the children are meant to fit the programme and yet this seems to run counter to planning individually for the children's needs
    Grapheme, segment, blending when did teaching simple letter sounds become such a psuedo-science.
    Why satpin? why not a,b,c
    Is it just me or do others feel steamrollered by the whole process?

3. Leapyearbaby64

Leapyearbaby64 New commenter

If you are for real, I suggest you have a search about on this forum.

4. Msz

Msz Established commenter