1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Thinking of teaching... Questions!

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by JamesandtheGiantTeach, Nov 1, 2018.

Tags:
  1. JamesandtheGiantTeach

JamesandtheGiantTeach New commenter

Hi,

I currently work in Sales but am considering a fresh challenge and have always liked the idea of becoming a teacher. I have a 2-2 degree in Business Studies. I can be a little shy at first but when comfortable I can be fun and engaging. I have 2 young children of my own and people often comment on how younger children often seem to warm to me.

There seems to be a lot of info online and I’m a little confused by it all.

1. Am I correct in saying that the starting salary for a primary teacher (outside of London) is £23,720?
    2. To become a teacher I need to get a QTS or PGCE?
    3. Can I get paid to achieve either accreditation? As I would struggle to finance the £9k fee otherwise and I’m not sure about the idea of taking out a loan to cover it.
    4. Once a fully fledged teacher am I able to choose which school I work out (assuming there are vacancies!) or am I ‘posted’ to less desirable/further away schools?
    5. Is there much chance for moving up the ladder or to earn more money?
    Thanks in advance

2. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter

If I were you, I would wait to make the change if you decide to do it until your own children are older.