1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Thinking of teaching in Abu Dhabi

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by abbieclark248, Aug 24, 2017.

1. abbieclark248

abbieclark248 New commenter

Hi, I'm a primary school teacher looking for some advice from people that have moved from the UK to teach in Abu Dhabi as it's something I am considering. I was wondering what life is like out there, for example living arangments and community. Any advice would be helpful!

2. Powergnome3

Powergnome3 Occasional commenter

There are a number of threads on the topic, so you could find a lot of good information by looking back, but in summary:
    Abu Dhabi is a lovely city. 4 months of stifling hot temperatures (June to September) with May and October being just about manageable. The other 6 months of the year give the most beautiful climate - dropping to the low 20s in January, with, naturally, clear blue skies all year (it may rain 2 or 3 days in the year).
    The city is incredibly safe (apart from the roads, and even these are much quieter/less dangerous than Dubai's). It is a beautiful city, with some of the most striking architecture in the world and some beautiful parks. I am free to go to my amazing church to worship in complete safety.
    Socially it is brilliant - Friday Brunches (if you don't know what that means, you are in for a treat!), plenty of amazing bars, world class restaurants, beaches, amazing golf courses, and a rediculous (from a male's point of view) invention called 'ladies nights' where (once a week) each bar will let any female drink for free all night (?!).
    Now the not so greats: