1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Thinking about supply

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by nowhereman1, Oct 8, 2015.

1. nowhereman1

nowhereman1 New commenter

Hi guys,

I am in my third year of teaching and to be honest had enough. I was thinking of going on supply, to develop more of a work life balance, hopefully.
    How much is there?
    How easy do people find it?
    How much do you make annually?
    I appreciate some of these things change depending where you are located.But it would be good to an accurate impression.

I am thinking of leaving at Christmas.
    Thanks.

2. elvispenhaligon

elvispenhaligon Occasional commenter

Give it some serious thought. I would consider every step you can take not to quit. Councelling, etc. This has the potential to really mess your life up.

In many areas, supply work is over subscribed and under required. This is true of SW Devon and Cornwall. Every college is chucking out another 40 of you a term (whatever subject you are) and if you were lucky enough to get supply, despite the pool of incredible talent kicking around, you'd be amazed at the husbands/wives/children/neighbours who get hired. You have a job, you are in a holy grail position, you should either accept that the other side of the fence is terrible and make the jump, or stick at where you are.

I've had an inglorious journey which has been hell in it's own way. I still look back at my teaching job with fondness. The money is good and the conditions aren't bad. (despite having a bully for an HOD). I was LUCKY to get a minimum wage job doing something half interesting. Despite what George says about the economy, not much has changed since 08.