1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Think your school teaches maths well? Please tell me....

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by ballamory, Oct 6, 2012.

1. This might be something of an unorthodox request for this forum, but since there are a lot of maths teachers from around the country represented here, I'll give it a go....

I'm a parent of a boy who is currently in year 6, and is going to move up to secondary school next year. I'm also a professional mathematician.

My son is very keen on maths and science, but so far he hasn't been very happy with the quality of the teaching he has received in either of these subjects at primary school, and I am keen to try to make sure that this experience isn't repeated at secondary school.

I've been to visit our catchment state secondary school, which overall has a very good reputation in the local area, and whilst I can see that it has a lot of things to recommend it, unfortunately I was not very convinced by the quality of the maths teaching. I sat in on two maths classes - one year 7, one year 10, and I didn't find much in either lesson that I believe would have engendered much enthusiasm in my son.