1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

They won't let me go back to work....

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by MUSICJO, Dec 8, 2018.

1. MUSICJO

MUSICJO New commenter

Hello! I was wondering if I could get some advice please. I work in a school .A week ago I was signed off work with work related stress for 2 weeks. A week on and I feel much better and I would like to go back to work. I met with my head teacher yesterday who said that I can not come back to work as my fit note is for 2 weeks and says I am not fit for work for 2 weeks and therefore she ended the meeting. I was under the impression that whatever your fit note states, you can return before that period? The head told me that my gp had to give me a letter saying I am fit for work but my gp said I can just return. Where do I stand legally with all this? I just want to go back to work early. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

2. serenitypolly41

serenitypolly41 Occasional commenter

The thing is, as you've been signed off my a medical professional it is them you must go back to for an assessment to be deemed fit for work. The school want their opinion in writing. I know your saying that in your mind you are well but isn't it best to be sure by a doctor? I'm guessing they can issue you with a note to say this employee is well enough to come back provided that you check their wellbeing weekly and ensure that support is in place.

pepper5 likes this.
  3. Mermaid7

Mermaid7 Occasional commenter

As far as I know, the fit note states that you will be fit to return to work on the date it says - I think there could be an issue with insurance if you return earlier. The NHS site advises,