1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

thermal insulator - please help

Discussion in 'Science' started by taspat, Jan 3, 2011.

1. Hi, Im a Primary PGCE student and I'm going to be teaching year 4 the qca module keeping warm. I desperately need some advice. The first lesson I'm going to teach is on how to keep the snowman from melting (using ice) - so keeping cold and the second will be how to keep the bottle of water warm for my tea (using hot tap water) - so keeping warm.
    I'm worried that I have not fully understood the science behind it and I don't want to explain it incorrectly to the children. I understand that the thermal insulator keeps cold things cold and warm things warm and I understand that this term will need to be used in both lessons. However, what is the difference between the term insulator and thermal insulator and am I right to use thermal insulator with the children?
    I read in a science subject knowledge book (there's not much on this topic in there) that the thermal insulator prevents transfer of heat between objects. Now if i explain this to the children they will probably say that the ice is cold so how can it give out heat. I have no idea how I would respond to this, probably because I don't think I understand this myself! Could anybody please help me understand this?
    Thank you in advance

2. Hi, Im a Primary PGCE student and I'm going to be teaching year 4 the qca module keeping warm. I desperately need some advice. The first lesson I'm going to teach is on how to keep the snowman from melting (using ice) - so keeping cold and the second will be how to keep the bottle of water warm for my tea (using hot tap water) - so keeping warm.