1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

The word said

Discussion in 'English' started by jdm14, Apr 1, 2012.

1. Im a ks2 teacher and we use big writing in school which, in my opinion, is excellent.

We are always encouraging the children to use words other than said in their writing and it is in fact 'banned' from being spoken/written in the classroom! My point is that most texts the chn read, said is used all the time!

Do other schools place a heavy emphasis on this too? I'm sure the chn must be confused why we reinforce it in their work but in most texts they read it everywhere!

2. Im a ks2 teacher and we use big writing in school which, in my opinion, is excellent.

We are always encouraging the children to use words other than said in their writing and it is in fact 'banned' from being spoken/written in the classroom! My point is that most texts the chn read, said is used all the time!

Do other schools place a heavy emphasis on this too? I'm sure the chn must be confused why we reinforce it in their work but in most texts they read it everywhere!

3. GloriaSunshine

GloriaSunshine New commenter

But sometimes 'said' is the right word. Just as 'then', 'and', 'but' and all those other words banned in primary can be. In all secondary schools in which I have taught, we nag at pupils not to repeat words, especially in the same sentence, unless it is done deliberately. But we don't ban words. Better to have 'said' a couple of times than inappropriate alternatives that ruin an attempt at style.