1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

The ultimate Middle East Teaching experience and quality of life. UK thread!

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by BiologyNW, Sep 22, 2019.

?

Where is the best place to live and work in the Middle East?

1. Jeddah

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Riyadh

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Dubai

5 vote(s)
    50.0%
  4. Abu Dhabi

2 vote(s)
    20.0%
  5. Ajman

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. Sharjah

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  7. Ras Al Khayma

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  8. Doha

2 vote(s)
    20.0%
  9. Kuwait

1 vote(s)
    10.0%
  1. BiologyNW

BiologyNW New commenter

Hi guys,

I'm new to this and wanted to start a thread on the above topic. I think it would be very helpful as many teachers are looking at moving abroad and some have families etc. and there's 101 things to consider.

So whats been your experience of teaching in the middle east either in british or national schools? Is it way more difficult and demanding than the UK? Do they support CPD and career development?

What the quality of life over there in places like KSA, Kuwait, Qatar and the UAE? What about if you have a family? is it worth it if its just one of you working? How expensive is it to live and is there anywhere in particular that is more reasonable to live and save?

I've also heard that sometimes, contracts offered initially are sometimes changed upon arriving to the country which makes the individual stuck in a difficult situation. Has anyone had these experiences or any advice to avoid this?

Overall do the positives outweigh the negatives?

It would be really interesting to see what teachers who have actually worked abroad have to say and would definitely be a help including to me.

2. taiyah