1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

The science of teaching

Discussion in 'Science' started by oakbell, Feb 26, 2011.

1. As a science teacher, I think it is about time teaching joined science, medicine, agriculture, engineering etc and moved away from tradition, fads and government edicts to a more scientific approach based on evidence.
    I have made this short film which makes the case for evidence based teaching. Please take a look, pass the link to anyone you think will be interested or show it at a staff meeting to get the debate going.
    YouTube: www.youtube.com/watch?v=W4eiIPA8ZcM<font size="3"> </font>On our website: www.evidencebasedteaching.co.uk/free.html

It does not contain advertising.

2. As a science teacher, I think it is about time teaching joined science, medicine, agriculture, engineering etc and moved away from tradition, fads and government edicts to a more scientific approach based on evidence.
    I have made this short film which makes the case for evidence based teaching. Please take a look, pass the link to anyone you think will be interested or show it at a staff meeting to get the debate going.
    YouTube: www.youtube.com/watch?v=W4eiIPA8ZcM<font size="3"> </font>On our website: www.evidencebasedteaching.co.uk/free.html

It does not contain advertising.

3. Links to this video have been posted elsewhere - & I have watched it. I started out interested in, enthused by & supportive of the idea & still am but the video, I think, does you a disservice.
    It gives 10 bullet point recommendations - but no detail on what they entail or evidence of why they will improve pupils learning.