1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

The right decision

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by travelwings, Nov 9, 2018.

1. travelwings

travelwings New commenter

Hi all,

Hoping to get some help with a dilemma I’m facing.
    I’ve been teaching at my current school for three years now and am seriously considering leaving. It’s a nice school with lots of experienced staff and and teachers are generally treated very well and students are mostly polite, well behaved and high achieving.
    I’m considering leaving for a few different reasons
    1. I’m thinking about moving to London (I’m currently only a short distance away) as I would like a higher salary so I can save up more to buy my own place. Schools are seriously underfunded at the moment and I know my current school won’t be able to match the London payscales.
    2. I’m in no rush to progress up the ladder but it is something that I want in the future and as this school and my department are so well established (I’m the least experienced teacher) I know that I’m not in mind for any future promotions. I really enjoy learning from all my experienced colleagues but I am wary that those in charge still see me as the NQT I started as and changing schools would be a fresh start.
    3. Diversity. I realise this may sound silly to some but I grew up in a very multi-cultural community and my current school is very different to this and in some ways it makes connections with students feel slightly harder.

I suppose my question is: does the above sound like reasonable ideas for changing schools or, considering the current teaching climate, am I silly to leave the great school I’m currently at.

Thanks in advance for any help.

2. Greeengirl