1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

The problem with teaching...........

Discussion in 'Personal' started by BelleDuJour, Oct 19, 2017.

1. BelleDuJour

BelleDuJour Star commenter

I've been teaching for almost 25 years.
    I've taught in grammars, comps, hell highs, indies....even a PRU. So it's fair to say I've seen it all.
    But nothing really has changed................except who gets the blame.
    Throughout my career there have been bright and not-so-bright students Hard workers and total slackers. By and large students get the grades they deserve and work for (some exceptions as is always the case).
    I've seen intervention after intervention, year after year, but nothing really changes.
    Apart from one thing.................it is now the teachers' fault. They are 'our' grades, 'our' targets. No longer the students' grades or targets. We have to email, record, write down in blood everything we do in order evidence what we have done, to satisfy whoever is now in charge of beating us with a large stick. It's no longer good enough to have a chat with a student....it must be planned, recorded, checked and assessed in triplicate.
    It's all about 'evidence'. Evidence of what? If a student passes that is no longer evidence we have done our job. If a student fails it is our fault. If a student does well it is because he/she is bright and hardworking.....nothing to do with us.
    We have to account for ourselves when sick, to the point we feel guilty and shamed.
    I'm sick of being set unattainable, unrealistic and un-measurable targets.