1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

The IfL : is there any point?

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by barnasha, Jan 9, 2012.

1. I saw this being discussed elsewhere but I thought it might be nice if someone could explain it to me as I am getting very confused. Like others I got a letter and newsletter before Christmas asking me to re join the IfL. They have even offered me a reduced fee because I am part time. I would like to know if it is worth it?
    I used to work in FE and joined the IfL (MIfL) back in 2002 when I worked in FE. Now I work in a school. I teach 14 - 19 and was until recently considered unqualified. When the Wolf report came out the LA moved me to main scale and paid me as a qualified teacher because the Wolf report said FE qualified teachers were to be recognised and paid the same as qualified teachers in schools. I am not registered with the GTC because its about to close down. My LA did apply for me and I have got papers for this and a TRN (which apparently I have had since 1995 when I qualified as an FE teacher but didn't know). I am not required to register with the IfL because I do not work in FE.
    So I am getting very confused
    a) Is it really QTLS that is being recognised in schools or an FE teaching qualification? It seems to me to be the latter.
    b) I am one of those who qualified in FE before 2002 and therefore do not have QTLS. I am not required to get it either, even if I were working in FE.
    c) Is it worth re joining the IfL to apply for QTLS and how would I get it anyway, since I am not working in FE and so cannot meet the criteria?