1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

The hypochondriac kid - how to treat them?

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by PeggyDee, Apr 11, 2012.

1. PeggyDee

PeggyDee New commenter

I am a student teacher and just completed my second placement at a boys secondary school.
    I'm wondering what is the best strategy for dealing with a hypochondriac pupil. At this school I had one pupil who complained every single lesson and asked for permission to go to the medical room. His aches and pains were always invisible (i.e not requiring proof) - a headache, a tummy ache, even his scratches and bruises were invisible although if he spent long enough rubbing a spot he could raise a slight redness in his skin. If he made it to the end of the lesson he suddently felt 'much better'. He would usually arrive in the classroom already complaining, but if not on arrival then the aches and pains would suddenly materialise when there was work to be done.
    As I was only placed at the school for the short 5 week half term before easter I did not know the pupils very well. For the first few time I allowed him permission to go to the medical room but discussed him with my mentor, just to ask if he had known health issues or anything we should be concerned about. She told me there are no known concerns about his health or welfare but to keep an eye on him. That was when I discovered that his ailments always appeared at work time.