1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

The end of British curriculum in international schools.

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by ravenscroft2, Mar 20, 2018.

1. ravenscroft2

ravenscroft2 New commenter

I am now an on line teacher. Which is the most creative post I have held in 30 years!
    I was recently invited to contribute to a webinar regarding the challenges facing British curriculum schools in Spain. The central government in Madrid is raising the points score for entry into Spanish universities to the equivalent of 4 'B' s at A level, and this will be a big ask for many Spanish students.
    Will this mean Spanish students will opt for public schools and the loss of school fees (and profit margins ) be the demise of most of the British schools in Spain ?

2. ejclibrarian

ejclibrarian Established commenter Community helper

I can't see English curriculum schools disappearing world wide. There is still demand for them.

I don't quite see why the increase in points to entry to Spanish universities would spell the end of international schools in Spain. Surely the type of school isn't going to make that big a difference in how well these students do in their exams.

Perhaps I'm wrong, but I just don't see the issue here.

thattallteacher likes this.
  3. tb9605

tb9605 Occasional commenter

Possibly. It's certainly true that at our British Curriculum School in Spain there is a shrinkage in the cohort - Years 12 and 13 are significantly smaller than Years 11 and 10 (while Year 6 is the largest of all).