1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

The Effectiveness of Brain Gym Survey - Year R/1/2

Discussion in 'Primary' started by loo16, Apr 14, 2011.

1. loo16

loo16 New commenter

Hello
    My name is Lucy and I am studying for a BA (Hons) Early Childhood Studies degree. I am in my final year and currently collecting data for my dissertation which is on Brain Gym and if it is an effective method of developing the concentration skills of primary school children.
    After the success of the Seating Survey I would be extremely grateful if you could spend a few minutes completing my survey. The link is at the bottom of this thread. Your responses will be treated in the strictest of confidence.
    Thank you in advance
    Lucy
    http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/QD7NDK2

2. Sorry, linking in chrome, not sure how to make it open in a new tab or window.

3. greta444

greta444 New commenter

What a load of rubbish brain gym is. Waste of time and a brilliant way to distract children from their learning!! Please don't write an essay/thesis praising this over-hyped Americanised cra*p

4. How about opening it out to include the related, and just a dodgy IMO, programmes that claim to help with dyslexia (as Brain -Gym does) such as Dore, Primary Movement and INPP
    www.quackwatch.org/01QuackeryRelatedTopics/patterning.html Quack Watch examines Doman and Delacato's 'patterning' theory.
    www.srmhp.org/archives/patterning.html Psychomotor Patterning =pseudoscience

http://www.badscience.net/?p=705
    BadScience on Dore

http://psyweb.psy.ox.ac.uk/oscci/dbhtml/abstracts/pdfs/Bishop_Dore%20-%20Miracle%20or%20cure.doc

Dore: Curing dyslexia and ADHD by training motor co-ordination: Miracle or myth?