1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

The Cold War, Hitler and Castro resources and recommendations for newbie

Discussion in 'History' started by nfk1001, Jun 22, 2017.

1. nfk1001

nfk1001 New commenter

Hi Everyone,

I'm in my second year of teaching and am due to teach IB Diploma Level History for the first time next year without much handover to guide me. Although I am doing some CPD in the middle of next term, I'm keen to hit the ground running, and wanted to reach out for recommendations of resources, websites and IB text books for The Cold War as well as for Hitler and Castro.

The Units are officially called:
    • 'The Cold War: Superpower Tensions and Rivalries'
    • 'Authoritarian States 20th Century' with focus on Hitler and Castro.
    Any ideas for resources on these topics for A-Level or IB, or more general tips about the IB DP syllabus structure - IAs, EEs would be hugely appreciated.

Many thanks :) :)

2. kuchizuke

kuchizuke New commenter

What is your core/prescribed topic (Paper 1) that you are teaching? The 2 topics you listed are from the optional World History topics (Paper 2). Are you teaching Standard or Higher level?

Most publishing companies do a decent selection of textbooks for popular IB topics. Personally, I quite like the Access to History series...