1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

That Early-Morning Uncertainty

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by FledglingMathsTeacher, May 24, 2011.

1. Hello,
    I'm new to supply. So new, in fact, that I haven't actually done any of it yet. I only registered with an agency a few weeks ago, and some of that time was spent waiting for CRB clearance.
    I've been told I could get a call at 7am or 7.30am or 8am on any morning with an urgent request to work. So, every morning there is that anxious waiting period. Will Iget work today? Where will it be? Will I cope all right? Will the kids run me ragged? It doesn't help that I'm still an NQT, with only two terms' experience of teaching, and those two terms were hard.
    But anyway... I wondered, how do others cope with the uncertainty? Do you have a daily morning routine, where you prepare yourself for a possible day's teaching? Do you have a ready-ironed suit on permanent standby? Do you make sure your hair is always washed and in good condition, in case you have to leave the house at a moment's notice? Do you find it hard to make plans for what to do each day, because you know you might have to drop everything?
    Or is that kind of supply, in fact, quite rare? Do most people do medium to long term supply? Do the short-term supply workers work 5 days per week in different places, or maybe have regular every-monday-and-tuesday gigs?
    I'm intrigued to hear your stories and learn how people manage this uncertain life I find myself in!