1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Thailand with family

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by OrangutanmanTeacher, Apr 12, 2018.

1. OrangutanmanTeacher

OrangutanmanTeacher New commenter

Hi. My wife and I are looking at moving to Thailand to teach. Partly as an amazing experience for our children (girl 9, boy 7), partly to escape the UK teaching profession, partly to attempt a better home life balance and partly to pay off some debt. I have been teaching Secondary Music for 13 years, my wife has 3 years EYFS experience. We are particularly interested in the quality of accommodation provided and cost of living. We have never been to Thailand, although have travelled and are very flexible and adventurous as a family.
    We would love to hear any advice or warnings from anyone who has already taken this path?

2. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

great country, cheap to live, and some great schools. the problem being that an awful lot of other teachers also want to work there. you will be up against a lot of competition for jobs

3. roamingteacher

roamingteacher Established commenter Forum guide

But of course that's no reason not to try.
    Bangkok is an amazing city. I wouldn't personally live there with kids (I think) but I loved it when I was young, free and single and I visit regularly now that I've left. Having said that, I've met plenty of people who did / do work there and love it. It's vibrant, fun and exciting and the sky train / MRT (underground) makes it easy to get around despite dreadful traffic. And of course with traffic comes pollution (one reason I wouldn't take kids there).