1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Thailand, Vietnam or somewhere else?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Innis7, Nov 30, 2019.

1. Innis7

Innis7 New commenter

Hey guys,

I’m planning on working aboard for a few years before travelling back to the U.K to settle down.

I’ve visited Thailand and Vietnam before, and have always liked the ideal of working there. However, I’m not sure if there are other places I should be looking. I’ve been teaching primary for 3 years and am in my late 20s with no children. Ideally, I’d like a place I can save a bit of money, so free accommodation and flights would be very attractive. But I’m not sure all countries offer packages like this.

2. 576

576 Established commenter

Countries don't offer packages, schools do.

To save, you don't need free accommodation, you just need to earn above what you spend.

Be open and look at each ad with an open mind.

3. frogusmaximus

frogusmaximus Occasional commenter

My first post in SE Asia was at a school that had free accommodation and a quite modest pay, relative to what is available elsewhere and also to what I later earned at a larger school in the same country. I traveled around the region with my partner most holidays and still saved about 500 quid a month. At the aforementioned larger school i was pushing closer to 1500 quid a month savings. Being paid a salary equivalent to one back home and living locally is indeed that much of a money spinner.