1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

text types for year 6 SATs

Discussion in 'Primary' started by devonshire lass, Feb 19, 2008.

1. Hi, this is my first year of year 6 and want to make sure I have all genres covered during revision.

Are these all the non fiction genres I need to cover: Discussion, Explanation, Instructions, Persuasion, Recount, Report(non-chronological & journalistic), argument, diary writing, letter (formal and informal), biography and autobiography. Are there any others I need to cover?

Thanks for all additions!

2. Hi, this is my first year of year 6 and want to make sure I have all genres covered during revision.

Are these all the non fiction genres I need to cover: Discussion, Explanation, Instructions, Persuasion, Recount, Report(non-chronological & journalistic), argument, diary writing, letter (formal and informal), biography and autobiography. Are there any others I need to cover?

Thanks for all additions!

3. I am just planning non fiction revision unit at the moment if you are intereted, taking a long time to plan though! Based on Rick Stein and Padstow!

4. That sounds good, if you don't mind emailing me any ideas you have that would be very useful. Email is: vardyc@hotmail.com

Thanks very much.

5. littlerussell

littlerussell New commenter

Yes, although I would tend to teach some of those as "purposes".

Forms (that I can think of!)
    Argument
    Balanced Argument/Discussion
    Recount
    Information Text (Report/Non Chronological)
    Letter
    Journalistic Writing
    Instructions

Keep persuasion and formal/informal as threads running throughout all of these ... ie they could write a formal letter to persuade, etc.