1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Terrible Exec Head

Discussion in 'Senior Leadership Team' started by dizzymai, Jun 26, 2019.

1. dizzymai

dizzymai New commenter

I am new to a Head of School role and early on realised that the Executive Head who is in charge of where I work and the other small school doesn't really know what she is doing. She lies, she pretends, she schmoozes, she hides. I often don't know what she is doing or where she is but have to run pretty much everything by her. She is either in a hurry, angry and shouty or high as a kite and fake happy. It's exhausting. I feel I am learning nothing from her other than how NOT to do it.

Now, things are starting to go wrong. No one trusts or respects her and data at our federated school this year looks very bleak. She is not providing much leadership at all, other than panic and last minuteness.

What to do? I am presuming that it will all fall apart and I should just stand back and watch? She has already shouted at me and others for, well, saying things she doesn't want to hear. Help!

ViolaClef likes this.
  2. JohnJCazorla

JohnJCazorla Star commenter

Does the governing body have any say in all of this? Can you use the same networking skills that got you to being a good Head to ensure that this waste of space is eased out?

You'll notice that I'm not suggesting anything 'proper', I suspect that at this exalted level it is purely who you know and how you work it.

3. fingertapper

fingertapper New commenter