1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Telling the time in year 6

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by stephyt, Jan 11, 2012.

1. Hello,
    I don't know if this is the best place to post but hope someone can help me.
    I'm a student teacher and am doing an assignment on bridging through 60 to calculate time intervals in year 5. As part of this I am meant to write a bit about prior knowledge and where they progress to.
    I've been looking at the archived PNS and found info for years 4 and 5 no problem, but I can't find any mention of telling the time in any of the year 6 blocks.
    Is there anywhere else I can find this information? I've spent nearly an hour trying various google searches and getting no where.

2. CarrieV

CarrieV Lead commenter

I don't think there are any "time related" objectives for year 6.

3. Anonymous

Anonymous New commenter

By year 6, they should be able to tell the time on analogue and digital. They should also be able to do time calculations such as timetables, length of a film, working backwards. They should be able to use the 24 hr clock.
    What else is there?
    If you want to challenge them - the best thing is flight times with 24 hr clock and time zones. That's fun!!

4. Thank you for your replies. I did think there may not be anything else from looking at the PNS. It was just we were meant to be putting in our assignment how they progress so I didn't want to get penalised for not putting anything so may put in the time zones as a possible activity, liking the sound of that!!
    We all have slightly different aspects of maths to cover though so I guess not everyone wil have anything that can be progressed.

5. PaulDG

PaulDG Occasional commenter