1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

TEFL or TESOL?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Applecake1, Sep 2, 2020.

1. Applecake1

Applecake1 New commenter

Hello I’m a retired primary teacher and I’ve been thinking about getting into teaching online.
    Teaching English seems a good idea, but I’m looking for some advice please.
    Some courses are a few hours long and some are weeks or months long. Would I be best to study for TESOL or TEFL?
    I’m unlikely to want to teach abroad, it’s going to be online. Should I join agencies?
    I did aTESOL unit as part of my teacher training ( mid 90s).
    I’ve also taught children for whom English is not their first language.
    I would much appreciate some advice! Can anyone point me in the right direction?

2. Romoletto

Romoletto Occasional commenter

I would think it depends whether you are interested in signing up with a company like one of the ones in this article:
    https://www.teachaway.com/blog/8-amazing-companies-let-you-teach-english-online-from-home?amp

or whether you would be working more independently by advertising your services on a website like this:
    https://www.tutorfair.com/online-efl-tutor

in the first scenario I would survey what most of the companies are asking for and go for the most marketable one, whereas in the second scenario it’s really more about which would be most be beneficial to you personally or what could you hone in on to set yourself apart from the rest I guess.

I suppose you could always decide based on scenario one and then you would still be well positioned for scenario two as long as you “sold” yourself well enough for prospective tutees to select your services.