1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

TEFL for Language teachers??

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by lsp22, May 13, 2011.

1. I know that TEFL has been spoken about a lot in the forum but I couldn't quite find the answer is was looking for.
    I am a French/Spanish teacher in the UK with 4 years experience and am looking to move to South America or Mexico (still need to decide!)
    I wondered if it is necessary that I obtain TEFL as I can technically teach another language or is it better to gain the qualification
    Any help would be great

2. It depends what you want to teach. If you want to teach English as a Foreign Language, then yes, a TEFL degree would be recommended. I am assuming that you are an English native speaker. Be aware that if you are not, you will struggle to find a TEFL job, even with a degree. But then again, why would you want TEFL jobs? They are generally at the lower end of the scale. If you have a PGCE in MFL, then you would be much better off finding a job teaching French and Spanish at an International School, and you definitely don't need a TEFL degree for that. Hope that helps.

3. Yes I am a native English speaker. I was hoping to find a French/Spanish teaching job and would prefer not to do TEFL but just wanted to explore all my options!
    Thank you for your reply

4. nemo.

nemo. New commenter