1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

TEFL advice for Spain

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by ThePoet, Dec 1, 2015.

1. ThePoet

ThePoet New commenter

Hi I am an experienced Music teacher with a PGCE and experience in FE and HE teaching. I am considering moving to Spain with my family. Music jobs seem to be few and far between so I am considering teaching English as a foreign or second language. I have been researching on the internet and have contacted a couple of companies that deliver the courses but have hit the point where I am getting conflicting advice. Does anyone know if there is a definitive qualification that I would need to help get work? There are a lot of courses with various claims and various prices attached any advice gratefully received.

2. Penguinitis

Penguinitis Occasional commenter

Hi
    A Celta course is generally the best qual for TEFL teaching - not a weekend course but a 4 week one. You'll also need to get a good grammar book - those present perfects and uncountable nouns are tricky at first. Good luck - it's much warmer in Spain!

3. davidbowiefan

davidbowiefan Established commenter

The course you need is the CELTA. It takes four weeks full-time and costs around £1000. If you need further information about it can you please do a search for CELTA on this forum first as I've posted about it several times.

4. ThePoet

ThePoet New commenter

Thanks for the advice, much appreciated

5. TimeBomb2015

TimeBomb2015 Occasional commenter