1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Team Teach positive handling - had to use it today...

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by anon929, Mar 17, 2008.

1. I work in a school with some SEVERE emotional behaviours - today was the first time I had to use a wrap hold on a child for an hour!! the team teach tutor also helped and its the first time she's had to do it too, even though she's been team teach tutor for quite a while. Just feeling a bit wibbly after this event, it all ended smoothly though, wondering about your experiences of similar events?

2. Done it once about 4 years ago. Really shakes you up even if you know that you did everything possible to prevent it prior to the hold and that it was necessary. Be prepared for most of you to ache tomorrow or the day after, even if you feel physically OK now.

Hope you talked it through with someone and got it off your chest. I found I needed to do that a few times to help me process what had happened. Does shake you up - adrenaline gets you through at the time but afterwards I felt really shaky. Chill out tonight and try to relax.

3. impis

impis New commenter

I've used the wrap only a couple of times, and only for very short periods - nowhere near the length of time that you've done it for.

I've used my 'caring c's' many times, to guide disruptive pupils out of the classroom when they've been exhibiting threatening or frightening behaviour to others. Once out in the corridor, indignation sets in and they huff and puff alot, but generally cool down very quickly.

4. An hour seems an awfully long time, wasn't anyone able to take over?