1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching with MS

Discussion in 'Personal' started by cbmusic88, Oct 11, 2017.

1. cbmusic88

cbmusic88 New commenter

Hi all,

I have recently been diagnosed with MS and I was wondering if anyone knows another teacher in a similar position? I currently work as a 0.6fte secondary music teacher. I dropped my hours at the beginning of this academic year as last year they had me teaching Music, Music Tech, EPQ and ICT (due to hours being cut in music) and I was finding that I was just wrung out at the end of each week.

I'm SO glad did drop my hours as I don't think my current health situation would have been compatible with full time work. I now currently fix woodwind instruments for the County Music service on my two "days off" and have a prospering repair business which is just fab! I do also use these two days to rest too.

Anyway, the point of this post is to ask for advice. Right now, I'm okay. But this hideous disease is unpredictable and neither I nor the doctors know when my next relapse will be. Last time I lost all feeling down the left side of my body and couldn't walk for a few weeks. The time before I lost sensation in my right arm and hand (the hand still hasn't returned frustratingly) and couldn't raise my arm to write on the white board - this all took place before my diagnosis.