1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching with anxiety/depression

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by Pianist82, Sep 13, 2013.

1. Hi all,

This is the first time I've been on the TES site since it changed, so I hope I post this properly.

I started a primary PGDE course 2 weeks ago. All was going well, enjoyed uni and learning again (9 years since I graduated), meeting new people etc. Then last Sunday I had a complete panic at the thought of going into school. I have been working with kids for 8 years in various roles - teaching assistant, nursery practitioner, playworker, amd briefly, teaching. I did the Graduate Teacher Programme in England several years ago, completed it, but left my NQT year after a term due to anxiety/depression problems (these have been prevalent throughout my life and I get support).