1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching with a past criminal record

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by coco1989nut, Sep 10, 2020.

1. coco1989nut

coco1989nut New commenter

Hi,

I've been teaching ESL in China and Korea for the last few years. I was thinking about returning home, qualifying and teaching properly. I have a degree in Maths and 6+ years experience in ESL.

I do however have numerous spent convictions and cautions that don't show up on a basic check, hence how I can get a visa for the above countries. Is it worth returning home to do a PGCE? Even if I can go on the course , would any school take me on?

The convictions / cautions were for common assault, fraud and drunk and disorderly. Last conviction was when I was 19 I'm 33 now.

Any advice

2. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

If what your have written is correct, then you'd be fine.

3. NQT08

NQT08 Occasional commenter

If you have more than 1 conviction - not caution - they will all show up on a dbs

4. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

But won't necessarily stop you being a teacher.

Piranha likes this.
  5. Pomza

Pomza Star commenter

Check the six year filtering list - you’ll find it with a google search. It tells you which offences show up and which don’t.

6. BenjaminBoxer

BenjaminBoxer New commenter

Remember that it's never the original offence that trips people up: it's the cover up. Be totally honest and disclose everything and I think you've a good chance. You were young and have grown up. Be clear with yourself that none of the offences show any pattern against children.