1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

teaching verb agreements to Y2!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by iamsmile, Jan 24, 2011.

1. Hi all,
    I am a student teacher, currently planning for TP2 in a Year 2 class. One of the objectives the Class Teacher has asked me to cover is subject / verb agreements - particularly am / are.

I'm just wondering how much detail I need to go into? My first TP was in a Year 5 class so I am worried about pitching my lessons too high! Do I need to go into recognising the subject of a sentence etc or just teach them which verb to use when?!

2. Hi all,
    I am a student teacher, currently planning for TP2 in a Year 2 class. One of the objectives the Class Teacher has asked me to cover is subject / verb agreements - particularly am / are.

I'm just wondering how much detail I need to go into? My first TP was in a Year 5 class so I am worried about pitching my lessons too high! Do I need to go into recognising the subject of a sentence etc or just teach them which verb to use when?!

3. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Definitely wouldn't go into too much detail for yr 2.
    What I often say is 'For those of you who want to know this is the subject-verb agreement, but you won't need to know & remember these words until you're much older!'. Means my G & T can be extended a little, and may well ask questions,
    but for the majority of the class I would just ask them to distinguish between I am (just one person) & we are ( more than one), he/she is (one person) & they are (more than one)
    . Very simplistic I know but in year 2 we do need to make it fairly simple.