1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching Secondary/MFL in UK with overseas QTS

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by MFLSpanish, May 15, 2011.

1. Hello everyone!

I am a qualified MFL teacher (Spanish/German and little knowledge of French) with Spanish PGCE, teaching at the moment in Spain. Due to personal issues, I have to move to London this September.

I have the choice of validating my Spanish qualifications to get QTS, and work in UK as a qualified MFL teacher. I am also very aware of the National Curriculum and standards for teachers there.

Unfortunately, I practically do not have any teaching experience in UK and I am afraid that schools would not appreciate my experience abroad.

My questions are: Should I take a PGCE course instead to broaden my chances for teaching in UK? Are there any seminars or training courses I could attend in order to gain experience there?

Thank you very much in advance, any help would be very appreciated!

2. SORRY ABOUT THE LINES, MY BROWSER DOESN´T LIKE LINE BREAKS