1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching Salary in Qatar

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by charmw, Feb 6, 2012.

1. charmw

charmw New commenter

Can anyone enlighten me as to what is an acceptable teaching salary to accept in Qatar? I am a secondary English teacher who has been teaching for 2 years.
    Thanks

2. charmw

charmw New commenter

Can anyone enlighten me as to what is an acceptable teaching salary to accept in Qatar? I am a secondary English teacher who has been teaching for 2 years.
    Thanks

3. gulfgolf

gulfgolf Established commenter

I'm not really good at this, but I would suspect something around 10,000 per month. There will certainly be schools that pay less than that, and while those might not be very good schools, they might be worth looking into if you don't have better options.
    Yes, you can live on 10,000, assuming that accommodation, yearly flights, medical are all covered elsewhere in the package. You can actually live pretty well on that. If you don't save anything or send money home for a mortgage, it'll be a pretty fun lifestyle. But if you want to save, or do lots of travel, you'll have to make choices. For a family of four living a reasonable lifestyle, neither modest nor extravagent, our teachers say local expenses run around 7-8,000 a month. But on top of that, you'd want to put away some each month toward vacation travel, retirement, etc. Just the travel savings component, again for a family of 4, can run 3,000 per month if you're going home every vacation, and mostly staying with friends/family (not in a hotel).
    Hippo might have better numbers about what a salary might be with your credentials.

4. the hippo