1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching Reflex Action - BLP

Discussion in 'Science' started by danieloakes1, Jan 31, 2010.

1. Hi all.
    I was wondering did anyone have any good ideas on how to teach 'Reflex Action' AQA biology B1a 1.2. I am a PGCE student and am just taking over my year 10 class fully. I am going to explain reflex action i.e. actions without using the brain and maybe do a human card sort type activity.
    I was wondering does anyone have any other ideas? As I am being observed by the headteacher as part of the schools push on 'Building Learning Power' and was wondering if anyone knows of any other ways to make the lesson more interesting and interactive.
    Daniel

2. yes, make your class into a mexican wave reflex arc - they love it!
    1. set the students up in a circle.
    2. Stand one student next to a bunsen burner (not switched on!), give them a meter ruler with a blown up latex glove taped to the end. This student will shout "stimulus" and "recpetor" as they touch the bunsen with the glove
    3. Give the other students the name of other neurons, eg first set sensory, then a set of relay, then a set of motor. These students shout the name of their neuron iindividually
    4. the student with the meter stick hand then shouts "effector"
    5. To finish all of the class shout "response" while the star student removes the hand from the bunsen
    Use a timer to time their fastest reflex arc time
    rules: each student shout their part after the previous student finishes and NOT at the same time