1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching Pythagoras to different classes

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by fareeha246, Jan 16, 2011.

1. Dear All
    How would you teach Pythagoras to a Year 7 class and Year 9 support class? I know that prior knowledge required is squared numbers/squared roots/ areas of squares/recognising right-angled triangles.
    Also does anyone have any resources for these?
    I am not a teacher yet but i may need to do a presentation on any one of Yr7, Yr9 top, Yr support, Yr 11 top and Yr middle sets and a year 13 class.( i am a MEC student)
    I understand that for a Year 7 class you would need to explain all the prior knowledge first and maybe a bit of a background on Pythagoras. But how would you teach it to a Yr 13, when you'd expect them to already know this.
    Also if any of you have taught Pythagoras to a Yr 7 class, which parts do they find diffcult to grasp?
    If anyone could shed some light into this, that would be good.
    Thank you.

2. Nazard

Nazard New commenter

You don't mention the prior attainment of this group.
    If they are L4 or L5 then it would be worth asking "why?" - not because they won't necessarily be unable to cope with following an algorithm, but because they will almost certainly get more out of learning other bits of maths.
    If very high attainers then I would start with "tilted squares" (one version of which is available on Nrich) - and then would develop the ideas with them, leading to Pythag at the end of a couple of lessons.