1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching Physics in Asia with PhD but No Certification

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by AntonGuy, Jul 13, 2019 at 4:38 AM.

1. Hello all!

I have just joined this forum, and I am currently considering teaching abroad very seriously. In my research so far, I have stumbled on tons and tons of information regarding teaching English abroad via TEFL certification. However, I have found much less information regarding teaching specific subjects abroad through international schools, universities, or other types of educational institutions. Thus, I was really hoping to get some input from you guys!

My background is a PhD in Physics from a very reputable R1 university in the United States, as well as 2 years of lecturing experience with calculus-based intro-level physics courses at that same university. The student evaluations I have received have been very positive. However, I do not have a teaching certification or license. Ideally, I would like to teach physics in either Vietnam, China, South Korea, Thailand, or Japan, though I am open to other possibilities. I am open to teaching high school students nearing graduation, university students, or adults furthering their education. I am also open to teaching English via TEFL for a while as a way to get by while I search for physics teaching jobs on location.