1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching Physics for the first time

Discussion in 'Science' started by chocolateinuk, Jun 20, 2019.

1. chocolateinuk

chocolateinuk New commenter

Hi all
    I am a maths teacher but will be teaching one class of GCSE physics next year in a FE college.
    I am the only one delivering the course and would like to know if I need to do training in order to deliver the practical and what training would I need.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks.
    C

2. border_walker

border_walker Established commenter

A good start is the specification and past papers.

phlogiston likes this.
  3. briancant

briancant Occasional commenter

I found myself in a similar position about 10 years ago in an international school. I had taught maths for years but because I had a diploma in Physics the school got me to teach the IGCSE physics. I have to say it was fantastic and I really enjoyed it. It is basically really easy maths with fun experiments. The syllabus was also much much smaller than that for maths. I think you will enjoy it. Do every past paper you can find yourself, spend a few evenings in the lab yourself setting up and doing all the required practicals, use youtube for extra practicals. I found it easy and fun compared to teaching maths and I have to say in my first year I got 100% pass rate, the best in the school. (I never got that when I taught the maths). Why because it's easier, smaller and more fun than the maths.

4. christubbs

christubbs New commenter

Hi C,