1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching PE in Dubai

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by megancornet10, May 24, 2020.

1. megancornet10

megancornet10 New commenter

Hello, I am a current sports student and researching into teaching in Dubai once I qualify. Does anyone know what the average housing allowance is and what the relocation allowance is? I have heard that they vary between schools but I am unsure. I would appreciate any help on this subject!

2. stopwatch

stopwatch Lead commenter

What have you posted the exact same query twice, but with a different header?

3. megancornet10

I had a technical glitch and the post had not looked as though it was successfully uploaded.

4. taiyah

taiyah Occasional commenter

Get your qualifications in order first before asking for housing allowances and salary.

Because in reality... every PE role (director/teacher or HoD) around the world had 100s of applicants. Post Covid-19 where some (emphasis on some) schools have figured out they could do without a Director of Sport completely or hire "interns" to offset costs.... Those applications will do nothing but double.

By the time you finish and the real economic impact of Covid-19 settles in the school's excel sheets... it wouldn't be bold to suggest that you (NQTs) may be sharing accomodation. Some schools already started to do this pre-Covid.

5. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

An NQT in Dubai? Have we heard of this before, I wonder?

desertestrella7 likes this.
  6. taiyah

Spot on @the hippo and it all seems to start with... "I'm not qualified.... yet. But how much money will I get?"

7. makhnovite

makhnovite Established commenter