1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching over 50.

Discussion in 'Education news' started by ravenscroft2, Mar 9, 2018.

1. ravenscroft2

ravenscroft2 New commenter

When I turned 50, after 25 years of teaching and record of excellent pastoral care of pupils and ' good to outstanding' lesson observations, I was made redundant. I am now an on-line teacher, supporting students in China. The children are keen, polite and engaged. Why would any one want to commit to a grim working environment, constant unrealistic expectations and high levels of stress in the state sector British system?
    I do invite other teachers to join the on-line revolution.

2. MacGuyver

MacGuyver Occasional commenter

It's hardly news though, is it.

Mrsmumbles likes this.
  3. hammie

hammie Lead commenter

how do you sign up? Would it work well combined with a bit of day to day supply? With my experience regarded as useless by too many fast track whizz kids it is sounding very attractive.

BetterNow and gud4age like this.
  4. catbefriender

catbefriender Occasional commenter

Congratulations on finding a sustainable means of employment. I have for a long time been moaning about ageism in teacher recruitment and how at the first sign of a grey hair, you are ousted.

I hope you continue to thrive. Your Chinese students are blessed to have you.

Best wishes

Cat

Shedman and gud4age like this.
  5. peakster

peakster Star commenter

I'm over 50 and still going......just

lanokia, Mrsmumbles, Shedman and 3 others like this.
  6. Jolly_Roger12

Jolly_Roger12 Occasional commenter