1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching offer in Doha, Qatar

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by chris_uel, Dec 13, 2011.

1. Hi all.

I am in a confused state. I was very excited to recently receive a teaching offer from a school in Doha, Qatar after a telephone call from the head of the primary. I have been offered a package of 12,000QR a month (roughly £2100), a one bedroom apartment with utilities paid (not phone or net) and one annual flight (I would have to pay for my wife to get there which they will arrange and I pay back in instalments). There is no transport allowance.

I am currently on M6 on the payscale, I have 8 years experience teaching. Am I selling myself short?

I have been researching Doha and the schools there and I get mixed reviews. I am not willing to disclose the name of the particular school but it is classed as an international school but with a high majority of local children attending there.

Is it worth negotiating? I have not signed anything yet and have agreed in principal pending on a few bits of information.

Any advice at all would be gratefully received. Many thanks.

2. Hi all.

I am in a confused state. I was very excited to recently receive a teaching offer from a school in Doha, Qatar after a telephone call from the head of the primary. I have been offered a package of 12,000QR a month (roughly £2100), a one bedroom apartment with utilities paid (not phone or net) and one annual flight (I would have to pay for my wife to get there which they will arrange and I pay back in instalments). There is no transport allowance.

I am currently on M6 on the payscale, I have 8 years experience teaching. Am I selling myself short?