1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching not for me?! - just need to get it off my chest

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by ralf103, Jan 16, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I've been thinking for a while now that teaching prehaps isn't for me. I'm in my last year of a BE.d programme - I love the theory, I love working with children but hte workload scares me. I've had brilliant teachers over the last four year placements but they all seem really worn out and overworked. I look at them and just think that I don't want that to be me. I know that some might think I'm sounding lazy but I just don't feel I can give my all to teaching. As I say I love working in schools but the workload at the end of the day really puts me off, when I'm on placement I get home start work then go to bed at about midnight and I just think - where's my life gone. On placement I can cope because I know it will only last X number of weeks.
    I stubled across a job near me in a National Trust property as a learning assistant and thought that sounded so perfect, working with the children, working in 'learning' but without so much of the stress. I have a aprt time retail job and love that when the doors close at the end of the day I can go home and not have lodes more work to do. I'm 100% committed to finshing my course and trying my best at it but after that I just think maybe I should look at other areas. What do people think? Are there any success stories out there of people doing a simialr thing and finding a fab new career? I absolutley don't mind working hard but I think prehaps I needer better / stricter boundaries for home vs work.