1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching myself another language

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by ttxalsm, Nov 27, 2011.

1. Hi there,
    I am hoping you guys may be able to give me a little bit of advice.
    I am currently studying PGCE Modern Languages and have a joint honours degree in French and Russian. However, because Russian is not taught very widely in schools, I was advised to start another European language (either Spanish or German) because it would give me another language to teach and would look good on my CV. I decided to go with Spanish as it is a language I have always wanted to learn anyway, so seemed like a perfect opportunity! I bought myself a Teach Yourself Spanish Book and CD rom and have been working my way through it. I have also been observing Spanish lessons whilst on placement at the school I'm working at and have even taken a few taster Spanish classes, which I must say I am very proud of, considering I was a complete beginner myself a few weeks ago. I must say, however, that my Spanish is still very basic and I wouldn't consider myself to be GCSE standard yet, but I can get by and manage to recognise a lot of words because of having a degree in French, which is very similar. Now, here's the bit I would like a little advice with please....