1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching music for MLD and SLD

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by baxterbasics, Nov 12, 2018.

1. baxterbasics

baxterbasics Senior commenter

Hello

There is a local school that is for secondary age pupils, up to the age of 21.

They are desperate for a music teacher, and I have been asked to go in next week to "give it a go".

I have made it plain that although I am a qualified music teacher, I will be learning on the job to some extent, as I have had no experience in that setting, only with EBD kids.

I will be looking all over the internet for ideas and advice and I am willing to prepare as much as possible. I can play multiple instruments.

So I am asking here from anybody who has worked in such settings: what have you seen other music teachers do that seems to work?
    Do you have any other advice? Is there any reading or preparation that you can point me towards?

Many thanks

2. Jo3Grace

Jo3Grace New commenter

Oh you will love it!

Have a look at Sounds of Intent - it's a free resource, and is wonderful for detailing the types of achievements even students with profound and multiple learning disabilities might aim for.

Having a proper musician go in is wonderful, you will get better results than a standard teacher.