1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching measurement conversions? KS2

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Juliet6079, May 1, 2018.

1. Juliet6079

Juliet6079 New commenter

Just wondering if anyone has any suggestions - I'm a trainee teacher in a mixed 4/5 class and last week I tried to teach converting metric measurements. mm - cm, cm - m. A lot of the class just didn't grasp it, although their multiplying by 10 and 100 knowledge seems pretty secure and we've practised that. I taught it for a few lessons and we just couldn't seem to get it!

I've moved on to some shape work for now, giving myself time to re-plan and come back to measurement.

Anything that's work well for you? Converting metric measurements and then converting to imperial as well? This is a high ability Year 4 / low ability Year 5 class. Anything that can help me to explain it better and teach it effectively would be amaaazing :)

2. theluckycat

theluckycat Occasional commenter

I would maybe use some things like maths mats, showing them instructions on how to measure etc. Some kids do get confused, like even when it comes to measuring from the right place on the ruler. Perhaps next time use mixed-ability groups so the highers can help the lowers, go round the class measuring real-life practical measures, working in pairs. Otherwise you may find the low-attainers/SEN are very labour-intensive. Most maths areas require another shot, particularly timetables for some reason!

3. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter