1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Teaching Maths- quick question. Please help

Discussion in 'Primary' started by thedancingqueen, Feb 1, 2011.

1. Hi. I'm a trainee and I'm on placement at the moment. I'm with a year 5 class and at the start of each of their Numeracy lessons the teacher gives them a maths sum test to work from and they need to write the answers in their Numeracy book. Today in Literacy, a child from the lower ability group asked me how to work out 5-0.01 or something to that affect and I found it very hard to explain how to work it out, since the child didn't have a good understanding of place value. The positioning of the numbers didn't seem to mean much to them. Can someone tell me how they would explain how to work this out, to kids please? They are encouraged to work things out mentally if they can but they can write things down if they need to. Thanks in advance.

2. As you rightly point out the important thing is their understanding of place value. Start with HTU, no point doing decimals with someone who doesn't understand how whole numbers work.
    When working with decimals I always tell kids to think about it as money: so 5 = £5 or 500p and 0.01 = 1p, difference is £4.99 = 4.99

3. Andrew Jeffrey

Andrew Jeffrey New commenter

I'd go further. If they don't have a secure understanding of place value, you are wise to avoid decimals as they have little chance of getting there, though as Alea says, money is often a useful and tangible way in.
    Deciding to tell them not to worry about that yet is good AfL (mark it on your folder as evidence!)

4. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Firstly your placement class look to be lucky getting someone like you.